Connect with us

News

Ultimate Guide on Deleting Signal Messages in 2021 | Different Methods on How to Clear Chat in Signal App?

Published

on

How to Clear all Messages in Signal

How to Clear all Messages in Signal: Most of the time, we send the wrong messages and we have to delete them in a hurry. If you wish to delete the messages in Signal, you can simply do it by pressing the delete option. However, the message is still visible to the receiver if he has read it. 

You can delete your message before the reader receives it. Signal also allows users to delete any message within 3 hours of sending it. After 3 hours, you can delete the message but the receiver will be able to see it until he or she deletes it. 

If you are in a hurry, just tap and hold on to the messages until you see the pop-up option to delete. Tap on ‘Delete for Everyone’ and confirm it to completely delete the texts. You can also clear all the messages in the chat by selecting all the texts and clicking on ‘Delete for Me’. Signal will delete all the texts from the chat. 

Can you delete a signal message after reading it? 

Yes. If you are using Signal, you can delete a message right after reading it or within a period of 3 hours. If you are having some top-secret information, both the end-users can delete the message simultaneously. 

The user who sent the message: The one who sent the message has the option to select ‘Delete for Everyone’. After this, the signal automatically deletes it from the receiver’s phone but this can be done only within a frame of 3 hours. After 3 hours, you can only delete messages for yourself. 

The user who received the message: The receiver only has the option ‘Delete for Me’. After this, the message will be permanently deleted, however, the sender can still see it. Do you know the ways when anyone raises a query like If You Delete a Conversation on Messenger? If not, then don’t worry here is an answer for it. 

What happens when you delete signal app?

There are a few things that will happen to your messages if you delete the app from your phone. If you are the sender, the following things will happen: 

  • The users sending you a message will see that you haven’t received the message but they won’t be able to know that you have deleted the app. 
  • If you haven’t kept a backup of your texts, they will be deleted after you uninstall them. 

To keep a backup of your texts, you can go to Signal Settings, click on chat, and then click on Chats backup. After you turn it on, all your texts will have a backup. You need to delete your account to delete the backup before you uninstall. 

How to clear all messages in signal app? 

You need to follow the basic deletion steps if you wish to delete all the messages. If the person has read your message, you are only going to see the ‘Delete for Me’ option. To delete all the messages, you can follow these steps. 

  • Go to the signal app and open the chat in which you want to delete the texts. 
  • Select all the messages or select the message you wish to delete. 
  • Tap on the trash icon to delete the messages. 

  • After selecting ‘Delete for Me’, you will see the deleted stamp in the chat. 

There is an alternative method available for both Android and iOS users. 

Best alternative ways to delete messages in Signal application for Android & iOS users

For Android users, you can follow these steps. 

  • Open the Signal app and click on the Avatar icon visible in the top left corner. 
  • Open your profile from the dialogue box and then open data and storage from the Menu option. 
  • Click on Manage storage and then clear all your messages. 
  • To delete all your messages, tap on history and click on delete. 

For iOS users, you can follow these steps. 

  • Open the Signal app and click on the Avatar icon visible in the top left corner.
  • Open your profile from the dialogue box and click on Chats. 
  • After that, you just have to click on Clear History to delete everything. 

Do Refer: Delete Old Backup from iCloud with Precautions

How can I delete messages in the signal app within 3 hours?

There are a few steps you can follow to permanently delete the message if the receiver has not read it. 

  • Open the signal app and go to chats. 
  • Open the chat of the user you wish to delete and ensure that the messages haven’t been read. 
  • Tap and hold the messages and then click on the trash icon to delete. 

  • Select ‘Delete for everyone to delete the messages from both sides. 

How to delete all signal messages from desktop? 

There is hardly any difference between deleting the Signal messages on the phone and desktop. In fact, it is easier to delete the messages on the Desktop, just the appearance of the delete option is different here. 

  • Open the signal application on your desktop and select the user whose messages you wish to delete. 
  • Click on the three dots beside the message and click on delete the message. 
  • After you confirm, the messages will be deleted completely. 

Conclusion

You won’t be able to delete multiple chats by using the above process as it is only for messages in a particular chat. If you want to know How to Clear all Messages in Signal App then take the support from this guide without any second thought. Moreover, our site provides various other verticals guides to fix all your issues while enjoying the apps. 

Trending